Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 5/10/2011 - 7:30 PM
Category: Business/Action Items
Type: Action
Subject: 16.4 Request to Approve the Proposed Decision of the Administrative Law Judge and Implement the Certificated Layoff
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
File Attachment:
ALJ Resolution 10-11 58.pdf
ALJ Decision.pdf
Summary: As part of the certificated layoff process, a formal hearing was held on April 20, 2011. This hearing was conducted by an Administrative Law Judge appointed by the Office of Administrative Hearings as required by Education Codes 44955 and 44949. The purpose of this hearing was to determine the validity of the process that was used to establish the number of Full Time Equivalent (FTE) positions to be eliminated and the names of the specific employees to receive final lay off notices. Both the District and the Mt. Diablo Education Association were present at this hearing.

Based on that process, it was affirmed that 140.29 FTE from the Mt. Diablo Education Association would be eliminated and specific individuals to receive final lay off notices were identified.

It was also determined that 13.0 FTE would be eliminated from certificated management and 27.0 FTE would be eliminated from Adult Education and appropriate individuals will receive final lay off notices.
Funding: N/A
Fiscal Impact N/A
Recommendation: Approve the decision of the Administrative Law Judge to eliminate 140.29 FTE from MDEA membership, 13.0 FTE from DMA membership and 27.0 FTE from Adult Education and authorize the Superintendent/Designee to give appropriate notice on or before May 14, 2011 to the individuals named in or affected by the decision.
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Denise Larkins - Administrative Assistant
Signed By:
Julie Braun-Martin - Assistant Superintendent Elementary
Signed By:
Steven Lawrence - Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Linda Mayo Moved, Member Lynne Dennler seconded to approve the Original motion 'Approve as presented.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 5 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 5 - 0
Gary Eberhart     Yes
Linda Mayo     Yes
Sherry Whitmarsh     Yes
Lynne Dennler     Yes
Cheryl Hansen     Yes