Agenda Item
Meeting Date:
6/24/2013 - 6:00 PM  
Consent Agenda  
6.2 (Item #3) Adoption of the revised/updated Environmental Science Course of Study  
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
File Attachment:
A committee of high school science teachers met to revise and update the Mt. Diablo USD course of study for Environmental Science. High school teachers identified a need for an introductory science course for students not yet prepared to take Biology. This course introduces students to a foundation in earth science and builds on this to highlight the ways in which the earth adapts to a diversity of life forms. This course is designed to provide a solid foundation in scientific methodologies, laboratory skills/procedures, and biological and physical science topics. During the course students will identify and analyze problems within the natural world, analyze data sets, and develop and design solutions and ideas for preventing, reducing, or solving the identified problems.

Courses not offered by any high school in a district for 3 years must be resubmitted to UC for a-g approval. 2008-2009 was the last time this course was offered in MDUSD. Resubmission of the course to UC required updating to reflect the new Common Core State Standards for Literacy, Reading, and Writing in Science and the Technical Subjects as well as the Next Generation Science Standards. Environmental Science may have a College Preparatory Elective ā€œgā€ status and will fulfill MDUSD graduation requirements for a physical science or an elective.
None required.  
Recommend approval. It was taken to the June 17, 2013 Board Meeting for information.  
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Lorie O'Brien - Administrator, Compliance and Training
Signed By:  
Bill Morones - School Support Administrator
Signed By:  
Rose Lock - Assistant Superintendent of Middle
Signed By:  
John Bernard - Interim Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Moved, Member seconded to approve the Original motion 'Approve Consent Agenda.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 5 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 5 - 0
Linda Mayo     Yes
Cheryl Hansen     Yes
Barbara Oaks     Yes
Brian Lawrence     Yes
Lynne Dennler     Yes